Who We Are?

The CTA Orange Service Center Council is here to support the leaders of the local bargaining units, and to serve and empower the over 20,500 local members from 34 school districts and 650 schools throughout Orange County in CTA Districts M & N.

The National Education Association (NEA), representing nearly 3,000,000 educators throughout the United States, is the largest labor organization in the US. The NEA is organized under the direction of an elected 3-member Executive Board, a 9-members Executive Committee, and a 180-member Board of Directors.

In addition, a 180-member NEA resolutions committee develops resolutions for the NEA. Resolution are formal expressions of opinion, intent belief, or position of the Association. They shall set forth general concepts in clear, concise language, shall be broad in nature, shall state the positions of the Association positively and without ambiguity, shall be consistent with the goals of the Association as stated in the preamble of the constitution. In other words, Resolutions are the philosophical statements of beliefs that will carry over time without specificity. Click here for a copy of the NEA Resolutions handbook.

The California Teachers Association (CTA), with nearly 300,000 members, is the largest organization representing educators within California. Under the leadership of 3 executive officers, President, Vice-President, and Secretary; a 21-member Board of Directors, and the 700-member+ State Council of Education, CTA seeks to achieve it's mission "...to protect and promote the well-being of its members; to improve the conditions of teaching and learning; to advance the cause of free, universal, and quality public education; to ensure that the human dignity and civil rights of all children and youth are protected; and to secure a more just, equitable, and democratic society."

Local chapters, or associations, are affiliates of the both CTA and NEA and correspond to local school districts. Educators who join their local chapter are members of all three organizations – local, CTA and NEA. Coordination of policies and programs between the affiliates and the CTA/NEA is carried out with the assistance of primary contact, UniServ, and regional staff members.

What We Do?

NEA Board Report
Human Rights Student Poster Contest: due date March 29, 2019
OSCC WHO Awards Dinner - Wednesday, May 8, 5:30pm-9:00pm @ The Turnip Rose Promenade

Do you know someone in your local or from other CTA activities, who is a member of a chapter in the Orange Service Center Council, that you would like to nominate for this prestigious award?

The CTA State WHO Award is awarded to recognize a member who has rendered exceptional professional/education services in matters beyond the chapter level.

Nominees are considered on the following basis:

  • Local governance bodies/committees;
  • CTA governance bodies, committees, Service Center Council and task forces;
  • NEA governance bodies.



District M - Joe Bartell

Joe Baretell is serving his first three year term on the CTA Board of Directors, representing members in parts of Orange and Riverside Counties from the Anaheim Elementary Education Association, Anaheim Secondary Teachers Association, Arts Academy Association, Association of Cypress Teachers, Association of Placentia-Linda Educators, Brea-Olinda Teachers Association, Buena Park Teachers Association, Centralia Education Association, Fullerton Elementary Teachers Association, Fullerton Secondary Teachers Association, Garden Grove Educators Association, La Habra Education Association, Los Alamitos Education Association, Magnolia Teachers Association, North Orange County Teachers United (NOCUT), OC School of the Arts Teachers Association, Orange County Schools Educators Association, Savanna District Teachers Association, and the United Faculty of NOCCD.

District N - Barbara Dawson

Barbara Dawson is serving her second term on the CTA Board, represent thousands of teachers in parts of Orange and San Diego counties from the Capistrano Unified Education Association, Coast Community College Faculty Association, Fountain Valley Education Association, Huntington Beach Elementary Teachers Association, Huntington Beach Union High School District EA, Irvine Teachers Association, Laguna Beach Unified Faculty Association, Ocean View Teachers Association, Orange Unified Education Association, Rancho Santiago CCD CEFA, Saddleback Valley Educators Association, Santa Ana Educators Association, SOCCD Faculty Association, Tustin Education Associaton, United Teachers of Newport-Mesa, West Orange County Teachers United (WOCUT), and the Westminster Teachers Association.

Our Local Associations

Contact Form

E-mail was successfully sent.
Please enter name
Please enter e-mail
E-mail is not a valid format
Please enter message

There was a problem validating the form please check!
The connection to the server timed out!


281 N Rampart, Suite A
Orange, CA 92868
United States

1714 978 8861
1714 978 2423
© 2018. cta-oscc.org